Held on Wednesday, November 19, 2014 at Weylin B. Seymour’s


[portfolio_slideshow id=3308].



 Judah Gribetz

Bingham McCutchen

Judah Gribetz will be honored with the Judge Harold R. Tyler, Jr. Award for his commitment to public service and social justice.  Mr. Gribetz has devoted much of his over 45 year law career to government service.  He has served as a Trustee of Mt. Sinai Medical Center, Trustee for the City University of New York, and Director of the Legal Aid Society.  He is currently serving as the court-appointed special master in the Swiss Bank Holocaust Victim Assets Litigation.


Paloma Hernandez

President & CEO

Urban Health Plan, Inc.

Paloma Hernandez will be honored with the Sargent Shriver Award for her dedication to reducing health disparities in low-income communities.  Led by her efforts, Urban Health Plan has grown from a one site facility to a network of federally qualified community health centers. In particular, her work has dramatically brought down asthma-related emergency room visits in her community.  We honor are honoring her for her vision and dedication to making quality health services a reality in her community.




Sonya D. Johnson

Senior Counsel at nationalgrid

Sonya D. Johnson will be honored with the Denis Berger Award for her commitment to community service.  Ms. Johnson actively works for many not-for-profit organizations that provide vital resources to New Yorkers.  In particular, she regularly volunteers in the food pantry at Bed-Stuy Campaign Against Hunger.  She mentors middle school children at Intermediate School 383 – Phillipa Schuyler and she heads the Planning Committee for the JA New York High School Heroes program, which is a partnership between Junior Achievement of New York and the National Grid Foundation. Since college, she has strongly encouraged others to get out into the community and volunteer.   As a result, we are honoring Sonya D. Johnson as a champion of community service and volunteerism.

Guest Speaker


James R. Silkenat

Sullivan & Worchester LLP

Immediate Past President, American Bar Association